Lay Servant Ministries

CLM-School-banner

February 3 - 5, 2023
March 10 - 12, 2023
May 5 - 7, 2023
Starts: 1 pm Fridays; Ends: 4pm Sundays
_________________________________________________

Wesley Forest

58 Wesley Forest Ln, Weikert, PA 17885
Bring linens and blankets. All meals provided.

_________________________________________________

Cost for ALL Three Weekends: $600

ATTENDANCE IS REQUIRED AT ALL EVENTS

Register by January 20, 2023

Certified Lay Minister (CLM) School operates at the same time and location as the Local Pastor Licensing School of the Susquehanna Annual Conference of the United Methodist Church. Participants are those seeking further development as lay persons in leadership who may experience an assignment to a local church as a pastor, working as a staff person as a local congregation in areas of education, outreach, community development, or new church development. For some, the credentialing process helps fulfill ministry opportunities outside the local congregation as a chaplain or other helping profession. Learn more about the process for becoming a CLM.

Please bring a Bible, Book of Worship, Hymnal, and 2016 Book of Discipline

Questions? Contact:
Coordinator of Certified Lay Ministers
Ron Swift - rswift@susumc.org

Staff Director of Lay Servant Ministries
Kim Shockley - kshockley@susumc.org

GROW slides

GROW! - Training Dates

The GROW! is designed to meet the criteria for use by Lay Servant Ministries as well as within the life of leadership in a local church.  It specifically addresses best practices for leading in liminal spaces – caught between what used to work and what we don’t know will work yet.

The focus for the first four sessions is on the development of personal leadership practices.  The second four sessions look more closely at personal leadership within community.

Learn more about the GROW!

Save the Dates and join us virtually on the days that work for you -

Altoona:
Sessions 1-4: (6-8:00 pm)
November 17; December 1, 2022

Sessions 5-8: (6-8:00 pm)
January 5, 12, 19, 26, 2023
Harrisburg:

Sessions 5-8: (6:30-8:30 pm)
January 3, 10, 17, 24, 2023

REGISTER TODAY

Lewisburg:
There are no courses at this time
Scranton/Wilkes-Barre:
(via ZOOM)
Sessions 1-4: (6:30-8:30 pm)
November 21, 2022
State College:
There are no courses at this time
Williamsport:
There are no courses at this time
York:

Sessions held via Zoom
Classes began on October 20, 2022.
This class will meet each week and tentatively end on December 16 — with a break over Thanksgiving.

Conference Lay Leader

Joyce Davis

jdavis@susumc.org

Associate Conference Lay Leader

Nicole Kirksey

nicole.kirksey@gmail.com

 

Associate Conference Lay Leader

Christina McDermott

cmcdermott718@gmail.com

Conference Lay Servant Team

Kim Shockley

District Lay Leaders

Altoona

Ken Bodle

kdmcjo@atlanticbb.net

Harrisburg

Dennis Helsel

helsed@chowan.edu

 

Lewisburg

Jessica Olenginski

jolenginski@ptd.net

Scranton/Wilkes-Barre

John Clary

swbdll@susumc.org

State College

Sherry Barth

sherrybarth54@yahoo.com

Williamsport

Candice Chase

chasec424@gmail.com

York

Kathy Heaps

kheaps@susumc.org

District Lay Servant Ministry Committee Chairpersons

Altoona

Duane Coy
dcoy@susumc.org

Harrisburg

Madeline Green

mlgreen@prodigy.net

 

Lewisburg

Susan Knorr

sknorr@susumc.org

Scranton/Wilkes-Barre

John Clary

swbdll@susumc.org

 

State College

Sherry Barth

sherrybarth54@yahoo.com

Rick Conklin

rconklin@susumc.org

Williamsport

Gail Vaughan (chair)

nvaughan@ptd.net

Cathy Dawes (vice-chair)

cdawes@susumc.org

York

Kathy Heaps

kheaps@susumc.org