6-2023_SUS_Supervision-Area-Map-New-Outlines_FNL

Districts/Supervisory Areas

There are five Conference Superintendents to provide supervisory care and oversight. The supervisory areas will include the areas of the seven districts. Redistricting is not part of this supervisory plan, but rather a reorganization.

The following are the Conference Superintendents and their coverage area:

  1. Rev. Dr. Paul Amara will cover churches within the Williamsport District as well as most churches within the Lewisburg District. The office for this coverage area will be the current office located at 2420 Nottingham Road, Williamsport.
  2. Rev. Brenda Leigey will cover churches within the State College District, as well as portions of the Lewisburg and Altoona Districts. The office will continue to be at 1200 Haymaker Road, State College.
  3. Rev. Judy Walker will cover churches within the Scranton/Wilkes Barre District and some churches within the Lewisburg District. The office will still be located in the Trucksville UM Church, 40 Knob Road, Trucksville.
  4. Rev. Dr. Joleen Willis will cover churches within the Altoona District and portions of the York District. They will begin to look for office space possibly within a local church in the Altoona Area.
  5. Rev. Dr. Gary Weaver will cover the churches within most of the Harrisburg District as well as portions of the York District. This coverage area will continue to utilize the former Harrisburg District Office in the Conference Center.

List of Supervisory Areas & Churches (by County) PDF - Updated version coming soon

Altoona

1381 Plank Road, Suite 104, Duncansville, PA  16635-8458  |  Phone: 814.693.9220  |  Facebook

Joleen-Willis_2023

Conference Superintendent,
Rev. Dr. Joleen A. Willis
jwillis@susumc.org

kathy-palmer

District Secretary
Kathy Palmer
altoona@susumc.org

List of Local Churches (by County)

Harrisburg

303 Mulberry Drive, Suite 200, Mechanicsburg, PA 17050  |  Phone: 717.766.8124  |  District Website

garyweaver

Conference Superintendent
Rev. Dr. Gary D. Weaver
gweaver@susumc.org

karen-atanasoff

Assisting Elder
Rev. Karen W. Atanasoff
katanasoff@susumc.org

Ilene-Swartz

District Secretary
Ilene Swartz
harrisburg@susumc.org

List of Local Churches (by County)

Scranton/Wilkes-Barre

40 Knob Hill Road, Trucksville, PA 18708  |  Phone: 570-901-1569  |  District Website  |  Facebook

Judy-Walker-21

Conference Superintendent
Rev. Judy L. Walker

jwalker@susumc.org

Elsa-Rodriguez

District Secretary
Elsa Rodriguez
scrantonwilkesbarre@susumc.org

List of Local Churches (by County)

State College

1200 Haymaker Rd., State College, PA 16801  |  Phone: 814.237.4365  |  District Website

brenda-leigey_2023

Conference Superintendent
Rev. Brenda K. Leigey
bleigey@susumc.org

bruce-wallace

Assisting Elder
Rev. R. Bruce Wallace
bwallace@susumc.org

Troy-Howell

Assisting Elder
Rev. Troy T. Howell
thowell@susumc.org

helen-meyer

District Secretary
Helen Meyer
statecollege@susumc.org

List of Local Churches (by County)

Williamsport

2420 Nottingham Rd., Williamsport, PA 17701  |  Phone: 570.323.7452  |  877.323.7452  |  District Website  |  Facebook

Paul-Amara_2023

Conference Superintendent
Rev. Dr. Paul C. Amara
pamara@susumc.org

ed-prowant

Assisting Elder
Rev. Edward E. Prowant
eprowant@susumc.org

Learn,-Helen

Assisting Elder
Rev. Helen Learn
hlearn@susumc.org

jill-johnston

District Secretary
Jill Johnston
williamsport@susumc.org

List of Local Churches (by County)
Ministries

Sojourner Truth Ministries (Williamsport, PA)

Important Facts

There are some important facts as we begin to move into this new model of supervision.

  1. These decisions are made with the full understanding that God is expecting God’s church to always be open to change for a new day and for new possibilities. These decisions are made out of a sense of newness and possibility.
  2. These coverage areas will allow the new number of churches/charges per Superintendent to remain similar to the current numbers.
  3. The boundaries of the coverage areas have been made for the most part around county lines. This will make is easier to do things across district lines.
  4. There will be new ways of supervision. One way is to utilize effective local pastors and elders as ministry partners to do some of the ongoing work of ministry in the coverage area.
  5. Every church and every pastor will have a Superintendent with whom they will relate and have direct contact.
  6. Current district committees will work with the Conference Superintendent to determine what is the best way to accomplish their tasks.
  7. This current change in supervision will position the Susquehanna Conference well for whatever General and Jurisdictional Conference may decide about number of Episcopal areas and number of Bishops.
  8. This new way of doing supervision will also allow us to be nimbler and provide new ways of being in ministry.